+7 (3952) 983037

Infix vs. Word

20.09.2016

Will you agree that translating a PDF using translation memories remains quite a controversial challenge even when we have superpower SDL Studio, MemoQ, SmartCAT and others that can handle such type of files? Both editable and non-editable. The output quality often leaves much to be desired. It is quite difficult to format the translated text Read more…

How to number pages in MS Word in 5 simple steps

19.07.2015

Another issue I would like to write about is numbering pages in MS Word. You seem to remember where the Insert page number button is located but every time when formatting your translations, certain difficulties arise, either the number persists on the cover page and won’t go, or odd and even pages are numbered similarly, Read more…

Breaks. How to change orientation of certain pages in a document

16.04.2015

I remember back in 2001 when I started working with Word (Do you remember Pentium 486 and Office 97? We did not have any CATs then and had to translate everything manually simply retyping the text in Russian), I had questions as to what to do with documents with different page layout. That was quite Read more…

How to create a Table of Contents in a translated file

23.03.2015

One day one of my fellow translators came over to me asking to help him with a table of contents. After a couple of questions, it was clear he was working on an OCR-ed file. The problem is that TOC in such files is a plain text and in order to set the page number Read more…

How to fit a text box in a congested picture environment

02.03.2015

Quite often nowadays, I have to translate pictures. For this purpose, I use text boxes covering the original drawing, which is quite effective. At least it is better sometimes than to translate them in a graphic editor like Photoshop or Gimp. If the picture however is congested with graphics it becomes quite problematic to fit Read more…

How to fix text boxes and pictures together in a translated text

26.02.2015

Very often, I have to translate texts with pictures, diagrams and various sketches. Sometimes such objects can be done in Visio externally or internally (if they had been created using this software originally). If you happen to have Viso installed on your computer, then translating such diagrams will be of no problem. However, much more Read more…

How to update cross-links in a Word file after translation

01.02.2014

Did you ever encounter to have untranslated internal cross-links in the middle of the text after translating with Studio or any other CAT tool that you did not know what to do about? For me it has always been frustrating as I did know either. When working in Studio such text appears as tags that Read more…

Comments Off

File preparation

How to make up a translation memory using translated documents

05.08.2013

Any CAT tool is only good as long as you have a translation memory on hand. There are basically two ways of creating one. You can either make it up as you translate a new document hoping to use it later on for potential projects or you may create it with special software using previously Read more…

How to convert pdf files for translation in CAT tools

28.05.2013

Well, since CAT tools are becoming more and more indispensable in translation business reducing translation time and improving general translation quality so, my first post here I decided to write about preparing PDF files for translation in any of the CAT tools such as SDL Trados or MemoQ. There are basically two types of PDFs: Read more…

+7 (3952) 983037

Сравнение Infix и Word для подготовки файла PDF к переводу

20.09.2016

Перевод файлов PDF с использованием переводческих баз – одна из наиболее интереснейших задач в нашей отрасли. Несмотря на то, что последние версии переводческого ПО предлагают возможность перевода как редактируемых, так и нередактируемых PDF файлов непосредственно в своей среде, на выходе зачастую получается результат, не соответствующий ожиданиям (переведенный таким образом текст бывает сложно отредактировать, программа произвольно Читать далее

Возможно вам также понравиться:

Как вставить нумерацию страниц в MS Word за несколько простых шагов

19.07.2015

Еще одна тема, о которой хотелось написать – расстановка номеров на страницах. Казалось бы, помнишь, что где-то там есть кнопка вставить номер, но тем не менее каждый раз при оформлении документа возникают трудности: то номер упорно вставляется на титульном листе, то четные и нечетные страницы нумеруются одинаково, либо форматирование съезжает, когда пытаешься эту нумерацию разнести. Читать далее

Разделы. Как изменить ориентацию страниц в одном документе

16.04.2015

Помню, в начале своей работы с Word в далеком 2001 году (помните, может быть, старые компьютеры Pentium 486 и офис 97?). У нас не было переводческих «кошек» и переводить приходилось вручную, просто печатая перевод по-русски. У меня возникали первые вопросы по форматированию и один из них был о том, как быть с документами с разной Читать далее

Как создать оглавление в переведённом файле

23.03.2015

Однажды ко мне обратился один из моих коллег с просьбой посоветовать, как сделать оглавление в его переведенном файле. Задав пару вопросов, я понял, что он работает с распознанным файлом. Проблема в том, что в распознанном pdf-файле оглавление сохраняется в виде текстовой информации, с теми номерами страниц, которые указаны в оригинале. Не нужно говорить, что в Читать далее

Как вписать надпись в тесное место на рисунке

02.03.2015

В последнее время все чаще приходится переводить рисунки. Для перевода пользуюсь надписями, закрывая ими оригинальный текст. Довольно-таки эффективно. По крайней мере, лучше, чем переводить в графическом редакторе. Однако если рисунок насыщен графикой, то вставить надпись ровно проблематично, потому что приходится, как правило, уменьшать шрифт, и даже это иногда не помогает. Как видно, шрифт надписи меньше Читать далее

Как зафиксировать надписи и рисунки в тексте

26.02.2015

Очень часто на перевод мне попадаются тексты со вставленными рисунками, диаграммами и схемами. Иногда такие вставленные объекты можно редактировать во внешнем редакторе типа Visio (если они изначально созданы там). Если у вас на компьютере имеется эта программа, то их перевод не представляет особого труда. Но, гораздо часто такие рисунки, диаграммы и схемы представляют собой графические Читать далее

Как обновить внутренние ссылки после перевода

01.02.2014

Оставались ли у вас когда-либо после работы в SDL Studio или другой «кошке» непереведенными внутренние ссылки? При переводе в SDL Studio такой текст отображается в виде нередактируемых тегов. Долгое время эта проблема оставалась для меня неразрешимой загадкой. В моей практике было несколько документов с подобными внутренними ссылками. Я пытался переключать режимы просмотра в Word, стараясь увидеть Читать далее

Комментарии отключены

File preparation

How to make up a translation memory using translated documents

05.08.2013

Any CAT tool is only good as long as you have a translation memory on hand. There are basically two ways of creating one. You can either make it up as you translate a new document hoping to use it later on for potential projects or you may create it with special software using previously Читать далее

Комментарии отключены

File preparation Translation job

How to convert pdf files for translation in CAT tools

28.05.2013

Well, since CAT tools are becoming more and more indispensable in translation business reducing translation time and improving general translation quality so, my first post here I decided to write about preparing PDF files for translation in any of the CAT tools such as SDL Trados or MemoQ. There are basically two types of PDFs: Читать далее