+7 (3952) 983037

How to update cross-links in a Word file after translation

01.02.2014

Did you ever encounter to have untranslated internal cross-links in the middle of the text after translating with Studio or any other CAT tool that you did not know what to do about? For me it has always been frustrating as I did know either. When working in Studio such text appears as tags that one cannot edit. So far all my efforts seemed to be in vain.

There were several documents in my practice with such type of internal crosslinks. Though I have been trying to find a way to switch between the MS Word modes trying to see all such cross-linked words but apparently I failed every time. All I ended up with was either leaving such words untranslated or add my translation nearby. It was not until recently that I came to know how to correct this situation. Unfortunately the only way I managed to do it was editing the target file in MS Word. There is no way to do it SDL Studio. Below are my several steps to reach the goal:

1. First of all you need to modify the multi-level list style. For that purpose go to Home tab –> Current Lists –> Define New Multilevel List.

After that you will see your word in question as a list item (HEADING in my example). This is where it had been inserted originally by the writer and we are here to change it. Go ahead and change say “HEADING” for the desired word. Leave the rest as is.

2. Next, go through your translated text to find this word. It will still remain there as MS Word won’t update the field data automatically unlike Excel spreadsheet for example. Update the field by either right clicking on the word in question and select “Update Field” or select the field and click F9.

3. Change the word ending to match your word case.

4. Update Table of Contents.

It may seem a tedious task but a good thing is you may use Find & Replace menu to find all the required words since they remain untranslated and can be located.

Here above I showed my way of doing such type of post-translation editing. Do you have your own experience with that? I would be glad to read about it.

Comments Off

File preparation

Comments are closed.

+7 (3952) 983037

Как обновить внутренние ссылки после перевода

01.02.2014

Оставались ли у вас когда-либо после работы в SDL Studio или другой «кошке» непереведенными внутренние ссылки? При переводе в SDL Studio такой текст отображается в виде нередактируемых тегов. Долгое время эта проблема оставалась для меня неразрешимой загадкой.

В моей практике было несколько документов с подобными внутренними ссылками. Я пытался переключать режимы просмотра в Word, стараясь увидеть все эти ссылки сразу, но каждый раз у меня ничего не получалось. Я либо оставлял такие ссылки без перевода, либо добавлял рядом свой перевод, что конечно же выглядело не лучшим образом. Только недавно я узнал, как поправить эту ситуацию. К сожалению, единственным способом, которым можно этого добиться, оказалось редактирование готового файла в MS Word. Способа перевести эти ссылки в Студии не существует. Ниже я привожу несколько шагов для того, чтобы обновить ссылки:

1. Прежде всего необходимо изменить стиль многоуровневого списка. Для этого перейдите на вкладку Главная —>Текущий список —>Определить новый многоуровневый список.

После этого у вас откроется окно, в котором вверху (скорее всего) вы увидите свое искомое непереведенное слово (у меня оно просто отображается как HEADING). Именно здесь оно и было вставлено в самом начале автором вашего документа и именно здесь его необходимо изменить. Изменить ваше слово (в моем случае HEADING) на необходимое вам слово. Остальное оставьте как есть.

2. Далее пройдитесь поиском по вашему тексту для поиска данного слова. Оно все еще не переведено, потому что MS Word не обновляет значения полей автоматически в отличие от таблиц Excel, например. Обновите поля, либо кликнув на вашем слове правой кнопкой и выбрав «Обновить поле», либо выберите слово нажмите F9.

3. Измените окончание слова в нужном падеже.

4. Обновите оглавление документа.

Это может показаться нудным занятием, однако можно пользоваться поиском и заменой для поиска необходимых вам словом, поскольку они в тексте они остаются на языке оригинала.

Выше я рассказал о своем опыте такой обработки файла после перевода.  Есть ли у вас подобный опыт? Вы можете оставить свой комментарий ниже.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

*


6 − = один